

MEDIA RELEASE

20th June 2025

Sydney College of Divinity Renamed as the Australian University College of Divinity

One of Australia's largest theological education providers has officially changed its name from *Sydney College of Divinity* to the **Australian University College of Divinity**, reflecting its national reach and continued commitment to high-quality education.

Founded in 1982, the Sydney-based institution has more than doubled in size over the past three years, with a footprint that now includes start-up colleges and ministry partnerships spanning Australia.

With more than 2000 students currently enrolled in the study of divinity, from diploma courses to doctoral research, the *University College* continues to play a vital role in shaping the nation's moral and cultural landscape.

The *University College* is a consortium of member institutions reflecting an ecumenical breadth with shared values and mission.

The **Australian University College of Divinity** will confer awards taught by the following member institutions:

Australian College of Christian Studies Australian College of Ministries BBI-TAITE Catholic Institute of Sydney Lachlan Macquarie Institute NAIITS: An Indigenous Learning Pathway Nazarene Theological College Nisibis Assyrian Theological College NSW College of Clinical Pastoral Education Olivet Seminary Perth Bible College Planetshakers Bible College Sparrow's College St Andrew's Greek Orthodox Theological College St Cyril's Coptic Orthodox Theological College

Ends

Media Contact: Prof Stephen Smith, Dean and CEO (aucd@aucd.edu.au)

W: aucd.edu.au | E: aucd@aucd.edu.au | P: (02) 9889 1969 Suite 114, 4 Columbia Court, Norwest NSW 2153 PO Box 6110, Norwest NSW 2153

Australilan University College of Divinity Ltd ABN: 39 002 653 036 | CRICOS Provider: 02948J